Week 2: Keep on keepin’ on

Week 2, and hopefully you have at least 4 days of running behind you! Even if you weren’t able to do a full 1.5 miles, I hope that you got out and tried.

Week 2 won’t be much different. Becoming a good runner, or even someone who enjoys running, takes a long time. When I first started, I ran about 2 miles every time for at least a month. However, I later learned that our bodies are capable of much more than we think or even know, so I am confident you will be able to hit your goal this week!

Week 2 Goal: 4 runs, at least one of them 2 miles.


Now, 2 miles may seem intimidating, and I do understand that nervousness. Yet, I also know that one mile is about 10 minutes.

If you can run away from your house for 10 minutes and run back, you will have most likely hit 2 miles. That doesn’t sound so bad, right?

After you do it once, you’ll see how easy it gets with each run.

Still, sometimes it’s nearly impossible to keep your legs moving down the road or on the treadmill. How do you keep going?

Mini Goals

The best way to push through a tough run is to set mini goals for yourself as you’re running. You’ll find that as you hit each mini goal, “I’ll just run to that tree and then I can walk,” that you push yourself further each time.

Self Talk

When it gets difficult to keep going, consider how far you’ve already gone. Tell yourself whatever you need to hear, think about whatever you need to think about.

Often times I’ll force myself to smile, and think of how strong my legs are that they could take me that far. It sounds funny, but smiling suddenly makes you feel rejuvenated, like you can finish it out.

Make It Easier

Some of the best running advice I’ve ever gotten was from the book, Born To Run.

“Think easy, light, smooth and fast. You start with easy, because if that’s all you get, thats not so bad. Then work on light. Make it effortless, like you dont give a shit how high the hill is or how far you’ve got to go. When you’ve practiced that so long that you forget you’re practicing, you work on making it smooooth. You won’t have to worry about the last one — you get those three and you’ll be fast.”

This has made every run I go on much more bearable and enjoyable. When I feel I’m getting too tired to continue, I just think, how can I make this easier on myself?

While at some points you do want to push through the pain, there is a certain amount of listening to your body that is important as you start running.

Goodluck this week, I know you can all get 2 miles in, however you feel best doing that. Push through the pain, tap into your greatest motivations, and enjoy every second of that runners high!

 

Leave a Reply

