Liven up your lunch

Now that I’m a working woman again, I have been playing around with some new stuff. When I make a new food discovery you learn about it, too! Here ya go! (Again, if you want to cut through the chatter, main recipe directions are in bolded red.)

Creamy Balsamic Dressing:

I’m  not sure if I’ve talked about making your own balsamic dressing before, but if so, I have perfected it since. My issue is that I really don’t like salad, but I like to eat it because I know I can get a lot of veggies, which is of course a good thing. For me, it’s always a challenge to find new ways to like my salad and this is one of them.

*As a side note, if eating a relatively whole and pure diet is important to you, then don’t buying dressing from the store. If you look at the ingredients list you’ll find everything in the book. When you see how simple these recipes are, you’ll see that all those additives are not necessary.

As a really delicious and good for you dressing, it’s insanely simple. Balsamic, Dijon and honey.

  • Whatever amount of balsamic you put in will end up being the general yield you’ll get for the final product, as that is the base.
  • Start with the balsamic. Let’s say you do about a half cup, then add around 2 tbl of dijon. Feel free to start small and add more as you decide how creamy you want it to be.
  • Because the balsamic and dijon mix is relatively bitter, I add in 1-2 tbl of honey. This sweetens it up just enough.
  • Feel free to add in some black pepper or garlic powder to get a little different flavor. Adding some low sodium tamari, probably 1 tbl is also delicious.

Tomatillo Vinagarette

For our mexican dinner tonight, I bought some tomatillo sauce (green sauce). What I like about this particular sauce is that it’s made with all real food, and truly natural ingredients. I decided to attempt a dressing with it and had some success.

  • For this, you want to have your dressing be made of: 3/4 tomatillo and 1/4 balsamic. Surprisingly, these two go together well.
  • From there I added some garlic salt and garlic poweder, to taste.
  • I also added some honey. Cuts through the acidity, and adds a needed hint of sweetness.

Tuna-Tuna!

An easy bring lunch to work meal is tuna. It’s also insanely cheap! Woo! I have dabbled with the traditional tuna recipe, though.

  • To start, I use dijon instead of mayo. Not only is it much healthier, but adds a lot more flavor.
  • Another option is to make it with hummus. This can add a very distinct texture and flavor. With hummus coming in any flavor  you could possibly want, it will really kick up your usual tuna sangy!
  • From there, I like to add onion. This makes the flavor more dynamic.
  • Some other options are to add red peppers, olives, celery, and anything you could really imagine. The point being that you want to get the most nutritional value with everything you make. Tuna being no exception.

Cous-Cous Sesame Croutons (crumble)

I started on this adventure attempting to make Quinoa crackers… and just realized that the whole time I had used cous-cous! Which is probably why I did not have success… Moving on, I’ve realized this is actually great as a salad topper.

My crackers came out as more of a crumble, which will be great to add some crunch to your salad. I cannot take credit for this recipe, seeing as I didn’t necessarily come up with it. I didn’t get the desired outcome, still I’ll link you to the cracker site, and you can try to make that correclty. But I’ll tell you what I did for my crumble as well! You’ll also see that I did modify the recipe with the use of sesame seed instead of flax.

Actual recipe: http://www.food.com/recipe/flax-quinoa-crackers-gluten-free-444067

Mine:

  • Mix half cup cous-cous, 1/4 cup soaked sesame seeds (didn’t measure the water, but just do enough for them all to be covered and floating, and then don’t drain when mixing), garlic powder and salt, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 tbl olive oil. Mix and spread on greased baking pan.
  • Pop in over at 375 for about 25 minutes. You’ll see it browning quite a bit. Then let sit, and voila, you have salad crumble that tastes delicious.
  • Not that I need to say it again, but make it your own. Add in whatever seasoning you prefer. I wanted to put in some dill, but we don’t have any right now.

I hope that I’ve been able to help jazz up your lunch this week. Mix and match, play around. Make something that is usually boring a little more exciting! Happy eating, friends. 🙂

One response to “Liven up your lunch

  1. Pingback: Baked sweet potato chips | Will Run For Food

Leave a Reply

